A SENATE RESOLUTION to commemorate the 50th anniversary of radio station WUEV-FM at the University of Evansville

    Whereas, the University of Evansville, founded in 1854, is a fully accredited, independent, liberal arts and sciences-based university affiliated with the United Methodist Church;

    Whereas, the University of Evansville's radio station, WUEV, is a noncommercial educational station whose broadcast area extends 40 miles and reaches communities in Indiana, Kentucky, and Illinois;

    Whereas, WUEV began broadcasting April 1, 1951 as WEVC-FM and today is an eclectic radio station presenting a diverse format consisting of music, news, sports, informational programming, and programs from the World Radio Network and Network Indiana; and

    Whereas, WUEV has been honored by many broadcast organizations such as the Society for Professional Journalist, the Broadcast Education Association, and the Loyola Radio Journalists; in addition, WUEV has received many awards including the Indiana Broadcaster Association Spectrum Award; the National Catholic Communicators Association Gabriel Award for children's programming, and five nominations for the National Association of Broadcasters Marconi Award for Jazz Station of the Year: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the

General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

    SECTION 1. That the Senate wishes to honor WUEV for 50 years of quality radio broadcasting and the many distinctions and awards the station has received since its founding.            
    SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the Senate transmit three copies of this resolution to Len Clark, Station Manager of WUEV-FM.