Introduced Version



        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring Ball State University's Inaugural Scholars.

Duncan, Behning, Buell, Whetstone, Kuzman, Fry, Pond, Thompson, Adams T, Davis

    _______________________, read first time and referred to Committee on


First Regular Session of the 114th General Assembly (2005)


        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring Ball State University's Inaugural Scholars.

    Whereas, Ball State President Jo Ann Gora chose to create a student scholarship fund instead of a formal inauguration ceremony;

    Whereas, Using the $150,000 saved in direct and indirect costs of not holding inaugural event, the university established the Inaugural Scholars program;

    Whereas, In response to President Gora's unselfish action, Ball State University alumni pledged over a quarter of a million dollars for the Inaugural Scholars program;

    Whereas, As of today, Ball State University has awarded 24 inaugural scholarships to top students from around Indiana;

    Whereas, These scholarships have a four-year value of $32,000; and

    Whereas, The Indiana General Assembly recognizes the value of education and looks forward to the future achievements of these distinguished Hoosier students: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives

of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,

the Senate concurring:

    SECTION 1. That the members of the Indiana General Assembly thank President Jo Ann Gora for establishing the Inaugural Scholars program and welcome her into the family of Indiana higher education.
    SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives shall transmit a copy of this resolution to President Jo Ann Gora and the trustees of Ball State University.