Introduced Version



        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the NorthWood High School football team.


    _______________________, read first time and referred to Committee on


Second Regular Session of the 114th General Assembly (2006)


        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the NorthWood High School football team.

    Whereas, NorthWood High School is the 2005 Class 3A state football champion;

    Whereas, NorthWood High School became the first team with six losses in the history of the Indiana High School Athletic Association tournament series to win a state championship with its 7-0 win over Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, marking the first time Bishop Chatard had been held scoreless since 2001;

    Whereas, The 2005 state championship title is the first for the NorthWood Panthers in their six appearances at the RCA Dome and the school's second state championship in any sport;

    Whereas, The victory was the first over Bishop Chatard after three previous championship game meetings;

    Whereas, The championship game's only score came when NorthWood freshman quarterback Skyler Titus threw to junior Brant Ehret for a 10-yard touchdown, capping a nine play, 47-yard drive that included two key third down conversions;

    Whereas, In the third quarter, NorthWood held Bishop Chatard to only 11 offensive yards on four plays from scrimmage; and

    Whereas, Hard work and dedication helped the NorthWood Panthers become state champions, and these attributes will continue to help these talented young people throughout their lives: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives

of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,

the Senate concurring:

    SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the NorthWood High School Panthers on their outstanding season culminating in the Class 3A state football championship and wishes them continued success in the future.
    SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives shall transmit a copy of this resolution to team members, head coach Rich Dodson, principal Louis Bonacorsi, and superintendent Joe Sabo.