Introduced Version



A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Whitko High School Art Department.


     , read first time and referred to Committee on


Second Regular Session 115th General Assembly (2008)


    A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Whitko High School Art Department .
    Whereas, The Whitko High School Art Department recently competed in the 38th World School Children's Art Exhibition in the Republic of China, Taipei;

    Whereas, The purpose of this annual exhibition is not only to demonstrate and recognize the value of artistic expression in society but also to promote mutual understanding and friendship among today's youth around the globe;

    Whereas, Whitko High School was one of only 10 schools to represent the United States at this event which featured participants from 47 countries;

    Whereas, This talented group of Hoosier artists was led by their instructor Walter C. Malicki;

    Whereas, The group included Yuri Bailey, Sarah Bays, Emily Bidwell, Ann Blanton, Deb Brenneman, Betty Burdeau, Sam Eberly, Kristyn Gerard, Ashley Haegert, Cady Mishler, Amanda Schultz, Brittany Sherry, Michelle Smith, Chris Spears, Andrew Sturgess, and Claire Truman;

    Whereas, Betty Burdeau and Samantha Eberly were individual medal recipients at this prestigious event;

    Whereas, The art students of Whitko High School have a long history of success having received 35 national and 115 international awards: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives

of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,

the Senate concurring:

     Section 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the Whitko High School Art students for their achievements and expresses great pride at their representation of their school, state and country.

    Section 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to Whitko High School and to Walter C. Malicki in care of Whitko High School.