Introduced Version



Introduced by: Day, Murphy, Bardon


    A RESOLUTION honoring St. Mary Catholic Church on their 150th anniversary.

    Whereas, St. Mary Catholic Church was founded on August 15th, 1858;

    Whereas, The people of Indiana take pride in their places of worship and appreciate their efforts to improve the quality of life in our communities;

    Whereas, The congregation moved from its original location near E. Maryland and S. Delaware Streets to 317 N. New Jersey Street in 1912 where German born architect Hermann Gaul designed a beautiful Gothic revival style church;

    Whereas, The elegant limestone building features twin spires reaching 165 feet high, a downtown landmark which was placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior in 1977;

    Whereas, This historic church has an inspiring record of serving a diverse population, initially responding to the spiritual and practical needs of German immigrants, and more recently to those of Hispanic backgrounds;

    Whereas, St. Mary Catholic Church has benefitted from the leadership and guidance of priests with deep roots in the parish including: Rev. Anthony R. Scheideler who served an impressive 44 years as pastor, Father Victor L. Goossens who helped revive the parish and promoted outreach efforts to an emerging Spanish speaking community, Father Mauro Rodas, the first Hispanic pastor who had special interest in the religious education of children of Hispanic background and current pastor Father Michael O'Mara who has assembled an effective bilingual leadership team;

    Whereas, The Sisters of St. Francis (Oldenburg) staffed the parish school for over a half century providing an invaluable education for the children of the area;

    Whereas, The Sisters continue to make major contributions to the well-being of the parish including the previous outreach efforts of Sr. Roseanne Taylor, OSF, the development of the Hispanic Apostolate directed by Sr. Mary Catherine Duffy, SP, and the good work of the current pastoral associate Sr. Therese Wente, OSF;

    Whereas, An active parish council encouraged by Fr. O'Mara has produced a number of parish leaders including Carlos Ramirez-Rios, Prisca Arredondo, Jeff Vessely, Dr. Janet Arno, and John Weisenbach, who have all served as President of the Council; and

    Whereas, An active St. Vincent de Paul Society, the Mobile Medical Center led by Dr. Arno and ongoing participation in the Riley-Lockerbie Ministerial Association give added witness to the valuable role played by the parish in the neighborhood; Therefore:

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the

General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

    SECTION 1. That the Indiana house of Representatives wishes to gratefully recognize the many contributions of St. Mary Catholic Church and its parishioners and to congratulate them on their sesquicentennial celebration.    
    SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit copies of this resolution to St. Mary Catholic Church and its pastor Father Michael O'Mara.

DR 4817/DI me



Graphic file number 0 named seal1001.pcx with height 58 p and width 72 p Left aligned