Introduced Version



        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Ben Davis High School girls basketball team.

Hinkle, Bardon, Behning, Pryor, Porter, Turner

    _______________________, read first time and referred to Committee on


First Regular Session of the 116th General Assembly (2009)


        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Ben Davis High School girls basketball team.

    Whereas, The number one ranked Ben Davis High School girls basketball team won the Indiana High School Athletic Association's Class 4A girls basketball state championship with a 71-69 victory over South Bend Washington;

    Whereas, The championship, held at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, pitted two nationally recognized teams, Ben Davis and South Bend Washington, and the game lived up to all the hype;

    Whereas, This year's victory marked the third state championship for Ben Davis, which previously won titles in 2000 and 2001;

    Whereas, The championship capped off a perfect 30-0 season, making the Giants the first girls team to win 30 games in a season;

    Whereas, The Giants finished their season ranked No. 1 nationally in USA Today, second by and RivalsHigh, and second by ESPN RISE;

    Whereas, At halftime Ben Davis had a 35 - 25 lead, and the game remained at about that distance for the next quarter and a half;

    Whereas, During the fourth quarter, South Bend

Washington picked up the intensity, with Skylar Diggins scoring eight points in the last 55 seconds, tying the game with 45 seconds left;

    Whereas, With 1.4 seconds left and seniors Alex Bentley and DeAirra Goss on the bench with five fouls each, Bria Goss fired the game winning basket from near the free throw line;

    Whereas, Bria Goss was named the tourney's most valuable player by the Associated Press and was joined on the all-tourney team by DeAirra Goss and Alex Bentley;

    Whereas, Head coach Stan Benge, ranked seventh among active coaches in victories, earned career victory 468; and

    Whereas, Special achievements in athletics deserve special recognition: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives

of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,

the Senate concurring:

    SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the Ben Davis High School girls basketball team on the occasion of its state championship victory and wishes the team members continued success in all their future endeavors.
    SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to the Ben Davis High School girls basketball team, head coach Stan Benge, assistant coaches Demetrius Dowler, Sara Strahm, and Omega Harrington, principal Joel McKinney, and superintendent Dr. Terry Thompson.