Introduced Version



        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Purdue University men's basketball team on winning the Big Ten tournament championship.

Klinker, Truitt, Bardon, Bosma, Cheatham, Cherry, Crouch, Dermody, Dodge, Duncan, Eberhart, Grubb, Harris, Knollman, Lehe, Leonard, McClain, Messmer, Pearson, Reske, Richardson, Ruppel, Thompson

    _______________________, read first time and referred to Committee on


First Regular Session of the 116th General Assembly (2009)


        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Purdue University men's basketball team on winning the Big Ten tournament championship.

    Whereas, The Purdue University's men's basketball team, under the direction of head coach Matt Painter, claimed its first conference tournament championship;

    Whereas, The 65 - 61 victory over Ohio State University was a hard fought battle for the Boilermakers;

    Whereas, In defeating Penn State and Illinois to reach the final game, the Boilermakers were red hot;

    Whereas, However, during the first 36 and a half minutes against Ohio State, Purdue seemed to lose its shooting touch;

    Whereas, Ohio State led 33-27 early in the second half before Purdue went on a run;

    Whereas, A three-point shot by E'Twaun Moore and a putback by Robbie Hummel narrowed the lead to one point, then JaJuan Johnson tied the game by making the second of two free throws with 15:44 to play;

    Whereas, Purdue finally took the lead on a three-point shot by E'Twaun Moore making the score 43-41 with just over 12 minutes to play;

    Whereas, Another three-point shot by E'Twaun Moore less

than two minutes later made the score 48-41;

    Whereas, With 1:33 left to play, Ohio State had narrowed the lead to 58-55;

    Whereas, Moore missed a free throw, then Turner converted a three-point play at the other end to make it 61-58 with 16.7 seconds remaining;

    Whereas, Chris Kramer was fouled with 14.7 seconds left and made both free throws to extend Purdue's lead to 63-58; Ohio State missed a three-point shot at the other end, Kramer rebounded and made two more free throws to ensure the victory;

    Whereas, Purdue shot only 34.9 percent from the floor, but E'Twaun Moore picked up the slack with his long range shooting, hitting five of 10 from behind the arc, earning him a team-high of 17 points;

    Whereas, JaJuan Johnson scored 16 points, and Robbie Hummel added nine points, 11 rebounds, and five assists for the Boilermakers;

    Whereas, Purdue outrebounded Ohio State 44-33, including an 18-5 edge in offensive rebounds;

    Whereas, The Purdue Boilermakers lived up to their preseason prediction of conference favorites;

    Whereas, However, the road to the Big Ten tournament championship was a little harder than originally expected;

    Whereas, The Boilermakers endured a season of injuries and illnesses and a late-season losing skid that dropped them to a number three seed entering the Big Ten tournament;

    Whereas, Coach Matt Painter felt the Boilermakers "were up to the challenge" and that with determination and hard work anything is possible; and

    Whereas, The Purdue University Boilermakers enjoyed another successful season, culminating in the Big Ten

tournament championship and a trip to the NCAA tournament: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives

of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,

the Senate concurring:

    SECTION 1. That the members of the Indiana General Assembly commend and congratulate the Purdue University men's basketball team and head coach Matt Painter for their hard work and dedication in winning their first Big Ten tournament championship for which we share the pride of the citizens of Indiana.
    SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to each member of the Boilermakers team, head coach Matt Painter, athletic director Morgan Burke, and President France A. Cordova.