Introduced Version



    A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating Jerry Thacker, 2012 Indiana Superintendent of the Year.


     , read first time and referred to Committee on


Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)


    A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating Jerry Thacker, 2012 Indiana Superintendent of the Year .

    Whereas, Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation superintendent Dr. Jerry Thacker has been named Indiana's 2012 Superintendent of the Year by the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents;

    Whereas, Dr. Jerry Thacker was selected from seven District Superintendents of the Year in recognition of Penn- Harris-Madison School Corporation's many accomplishments under his exemplary leadership;
    Whereas, During the 2009-2010 school year, every elementary and middle school in Dr. Thacker's district achieved Adequate Yearly Progress, five of the schools were 4-Star schools, and Penn High School was named one of 25 exemplary AP schools in Indiana. The district is among the top 5 percent in the state for SAT and AP scores;

    Whereas, Dr. Thacker's innovative direction led to his district's creative use of available resources to boost instructional programs, and to save millions of dollars on energy costs, property, casualty, and health insurance;

    Whereas, Dr. Thacker has served on the board of directors for the Project Future Economic Development

Group for St. Joseph County, and as a Commissioner for the St. Joseph County Area Plan Commission.

    Whereas, Dr. Thacker has worked in Educational Administration for twenty-one years, in positions ranging from administrator in the Metropolitan School Corporation of Lawrence Township, superintendent of Logansport Community School Corporation, to his current position of superintendent of Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation, one of the best high schools in the nation according to U.S. News and World Report; and

    Whereas, Dr. Jerry Thacker's innovation and dedication to academic excellence and growth has earned him the much-deserved title of 2012 Indiana Superintendent of the Year: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate     of the General Assembly

of the State of Indiana, the House of Representatives     concurring:

    SECTION 1. The Indiana General Assembly recognizes Dr. Jerry Thacker on being named 2012 Indiana Superintendent of the Year.
    SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed to transmit a copy of this Resolution to Dr. Jerry Thacker and to the chairman of the Penn-Harris-Madison school board.