Introduced Version



     A SENATE RESOLUTION honoring the Ivy Tech- Logansport Electric Vehicle Club.


     , read first time and referred to Committee on


Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)



    I offer the following resolution and move its adoption:

    A SENATE RESOLUTION honoring the Ivy Tech- Logansport Electric Vehicle Club.

    Whereas, The Electric Vehicle Club is a group of students at Ivy Tech-Logansport that have been designing and building an electric go-cart which surpasses the speed and acceleration capabilities of a gas-powered model;

    Whereas, Such impressive speed and acceleration capabilities will put them on par with the national and international competitors at their next two competitions;

    Whereas, The Electric Vehicle Club will have the privilege of participating in an international 100-lap race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 7, at which time the speedway will celebrate its 100 year anniversary. The team will be demonstrating the design, battery efficiency, speed, and community outreach aspects of their go-cart;

    Whereas, The vehicle entered into the competition is crafted entirely by students. The club's objective for participating in the contest is to educate the public about the benefits and advancements in electric powered transportation technology;

    Whereas, The Electric Vehicle Club is partially funded through U.S. Department of Energy grants, but raises it's own funds through sponsorships and individual contributions. Their willingness to actively seek funding for their projects demonstrates their strong commitment to this technology; and

    Whereas, The innovative thinking and passion for development and technological advancement is exemplary, and the optimism among the project team about their prospects of success in the upcoming races are to be acknowledged: Therefore,     

Be it resolved by the Senate of the
General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

    SECTION 1. That the Indiana Senate honors the Ivy Tech- Logansport Electric Vehicle Club for their hard work and dedication to the creation of an electric go-cart.
    SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed to transmit a copy of this Resolution to the Electric Vehicle Club President, Jeff Marshall, and Ivy Tech President, Thomas Snyder.